Restoration of iconic nameboard on Up platform at Maam Cross station!
The station nameboard shown in the 1934 photo is the original – erected with the opening of Maam Cross station in 1896 ( the line opened the previous year, but Maam Cross hadn’t been finished. After 1925 with the absorption of the MGWR – the new Great Southern Railways set about replacing all station nameboards in the Irish Free State with bilingual versions but by 1934 the conversion programme still hadn’t reached the Clifden Line.
We have recreated the original through the great skills of our master joiner Andy Kelly with cast iron
letters from the Athy Foundry who ironically made them from melted down old railway track fittings ( railway chairs) !
On our Down platform we have a bilingual version with the translation of Maam Cross as – an Teacht Doite ( the burnt house) .